Minutes of First Division, Pacific Northwest Region, NMRA

October5, 2013 at Corvallis Society of Model Engineers club house

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Rich Pitter at 12:11 PM. In attendance were board members Dirk Kruysman, Gene Neville, Glenn Edmison, Nick Lehrbach, Elaine Crueger, & Bruce McGarvey. Guests included Jim Crueger, Ed Schaenzer, Christopher Jones & Jerry Hildebrand.

Rich Pitter asked for volunteers for the position of Assistant Superintendent and Elaine Crueger said she would take the position. It was so moved by Dirk and seconded by Gene that she be appointed. The motion was approved.

Committee Reports:

Dirk supplied copies for the P&L statement showing net income for the year as \$145.74 with the checking account at \$3758.93 and CD's of \$22,228.29 and \$3,578.29 at present. The amount of \$425 is available for the Tunnel Country grant program.

Reading of the minutes of the previous meeting were dispensed with and Dirk made a motion that they be approved as supplied to the board previously. After a second by Bruce, the motion was approved.

Rich discussed the cost of mailing the Brakeman Rag to about 35 First Division members who do not have e-mail. Most of these members are life members and ideas were exchanged regarding ways to recoup these costs. It was finally decided not to ask for any subscription money from the members, but to encourage businesses to advertise in the newsletter for a small fee of \$25 for a quarter page. This was so moved by Dirk and seconded by Elaine before being approved.

Glenn Edmison reported for the AP committee that he had a problem with the methods used by Second Division for their AP judging.

Rich reported that Charlie Hutto had volunteered to be the Division web master.

No old business was brought up.

New Business:

The three application letters for the Tunnel Country grant money were discussed. Bruce pointed out that none of the letters met all the criteria for the application. Dirk made a motion that each party be given \$150. After a second by Gene there was a great deal of discussion regarding the application letters and Glenn made a motion to amend Dirk's motion to give awards only if the applications were resubmitted in proper form at a later date. After more discussion and no second to the motion, Dirk withdrew his motion. Elaine moved that no awards be given this year and after a second by Dirk, the motion was approved.

Gene Neville brought up the fact that the Member of the Year award had not been given out in 10 years and we should look into its being awarded each year.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:57 PM. Nick Lehrbach, Secretary